Got my wedding dress! It smells like fish. How to get the stank out?

8 Jun

My wedding dress smells like fish

I picked up my wedding dress today! I can’t show you a picture because Fiance reads this blog.

The dress is nicer than I remember it, and looks better because its the right size and the only alterations it needs is the length! My mom’s going to do it. And my mom paid for the whole dress. Her wedding gift to me is my beautiful dress, and  she will sew beading on herself!

I tried the dress on at the store and was happy with it. There’s only one problem: It smells like fish. The stink made me sneeze.

The wedding dress store said all the dresses come from China. It doesn’t matter that the designer is from Australia (like mine), or that other designers come from Europe. The dresses all come from China anyway.

The fishy smell has to do with some kind of pesticide that is put on Chinese wedding dresses when they’re shipped to avoid transporting bugs.

So anyway, what do I do to get the stink out? There’s some suggestions at those links above. I don’t want to febreze it because I’m scared it might stain. I’ve got it hanging outside the bag to air it out in the meantime.

Anyone else had a stinky dress?

EDIT::  I eventually got the smell out by just airing the dress out. I took it out of the garment bag and hung it up and it was smelling fresh after about a week. It did stink up the house but at least I wasn’t stinky on the wedding day! I wouldn’t suggest putting any Febreze-type fabric freshener on it, because it could ruin the material. I know you’re anxious but just let it air out, it really goes away on its own!

5 Responses to “Got my wedding dress! It smells like fish. How to get the stank out?”

  1. Jan Dering June 8, 2011 at 2:58 am #

    You could place it wrapped in a plain cotton sheet on the washing line outside to air. This may take a few days to work. You could have your wedding dress dry cleaned too. Farbreeze will not stain it and would be my last resort.
    hope this helps honey.

    • unhappy bride June 8, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

      thanks! I’m wary of hanging it outside b/c it’s pretty humid and we’re getting some random 10 minute showers!

  2. specday June 9, 2011 at 4:13 am #

    I agree with Jan.. take care not to let fading occur. Sun is a great odor remover. Febreeze may stain if any part of the dress is satin. It could leave a ring. If you choose dry cleaners, tell them of course what has occured, but you may run the risk of solvent smell in dress. If that happens, place the dress outside again.

    • unhappy bride June 9, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      Thanks for the suggestion. I’ve had it for 2 days and left it on the couch in an unused room outside of the bag to breathe. The smell is going away. I am scared to put it outside in case it rains!

  3. Dania June 9, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    I have the same problem. I went to the dry cleaner and the lady said the smell is not in the fabric, but in the wires inside, for the structure, and it seems she is right! She said the only solution was to change the wires, but that´s impossible!

Leave a comment