Wedding’s over: now onto unwanted baby spam!

27 Jul

We’ve been married for 2.5 weeks. Happy anniversary! And guess what? We’re already getting “why you should/shouldn’t have a baby” spam from the wedding websites. Seriously? We only just got furniture yesterday. I thought you’d at least wait a month and spam me with “you’re going to buy a house” crap first.

They make it sound like if you’ve waited one week into your marriage to conceive your first child, I guess you need to start fertility treatments. Chill out!

The wedding industry is pretty horrid in self promotion. We bought wedding invitations from a website, and the next day we were already getting “buy your thank you cards” spam. I haven’t even received the invites yet, let alone mailed them. How can I buy thank you cards if I don’t know how many people are coming?

Glad we signed up for a “wedding spam only” email address. I very much recommend this. Every time you go to the wedding shows, or sign up for something wedding related, use this email address. I.e. johnandjaneswedding@hotmail.com or something of that nature. It really saves your inbox space and your sanity, and once your wedding is over you never have to look at it again.

One Response to “Wedding’s over: now onto unwanted baby spam!”

  1. Jenny August 7, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    I just wanna say; I just found your blog today ( Google is a crazy thing) And I absolutely love it. I completely understand the feeling of wanting to drop kick ( at times) people during wedding planning and the pressures that come with it. I’m in a totally different situation but somehow I can relate. I’m having a long engagement( Sept 2013 wedding) and still I get asked Have you bought your dress yet? Have you looked into invites? Where are you having it? It’s TWO YEARS AWAY people I’m just getting started on favors much less bridesmaid bouquets. Along with the remarks of me being 19. Yeah cause obviously your newly engaged cousin who’s 23 parties every night and has been dating the guy she met online for a month is much more ready for marriage then my steady job, 401 K building, tail is. Whew sorry had to rant for a second.
    Anyways the point is you have given me something to giggle at and for that I salute you 🙂 Thanks for making my day and Congrats on the marriage.
    -Jenny

Leave a Reply

