My wedding dress looks “princessy?” I want to cry

12 Jun

Went for trial hair run today. Love the look. Hairdresser said he wanted to see a picture of my dress to make sure my hair didn’t compete with it.

He said my dress looks “princessy.”

I want to cry. That’s exactly what I didn’t want. I wanted something that looked good on my body, and I think that the details on this dress make it a fresh and modern take on a classic style.

But since he said that, I can’t look at the dress the same way anymore…

😦

3 Responses to “My wedding dress looks “princessy?” I want to cry”

  1. Marie June 12, 2011 at 5:28 am #

    Princessy doesn’t mean old-fashioned or outdated or illfitting imho. I guess he meant to say that it looks elegant or it has that wow factor. Or maybe he said that because he was thinking about a princess cut dress, I don’t know.
    Don’t let what he said get to you! What does he know? He just saw a picture, and he probably meant that as a compliment. Plus he may not use princessy the same way as you do. I’m sure the dress is great. 🙂

  2. eyeronic June 12, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I don’t think you neeed to lament your dress choice! I suspect he used the word on the assumption that it’s the word you’d want to hear. Afterall, as you’ve pointed out yourself, princessy seems to be the style so many brides aspire to for whatever reason. Also, I agree with Marie that he likely used the term as a synonym for elegant, classy etc. He probably doesn’t approach the word with the same negative connotations you have. So…focus on his hair-styling talents, not his sartorial spin!

  3. Jennifer June 18, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    It is just a word. You love your dress and so do I. Don’t doubt your choice. Your dress is not princessy. It is elegant and stunning on you!

Leave a Reply

