Royal wedding one week anniversary: Will the goodwill continue?

6 May

This photo is from People.com

It’s the one week wedding anniversary of William and Kate (the new Duke and Duchess of Cambridge).

 We’ve all had time to get over the media circus and truly think about what happened, without worrying about little girls or second dresses.

So what do you think?

I think I would have enjoyed the whole pomp and circumstance more if there wasn’t a U.S. media blitz before. Of course, I would’ve been more excited if it didn’t remind me of the long list of things I have to do for my own wedding!

But, I think the wedding was nice, elegant, a simple ceremony, which was great. Kate Middleton looked great.

But the best part was how such a happy event seemed to unite the world. Even my cynical boss pointed out that after a recession, rising prices of everything, and people struggling to survive, it’s nice to have happy news that brings hope to people.

Personally, I’ve had a tough few years. Fiance moved to the U.S. for two years, and I was laid off three times from three different companies last year. Life was hard and I had to deal with it alone as my boyfriend tried to help over the phone but couldn’t give me the reassuring hugs that I needed.

I’m young, but I don’t always have a lot of faith in people. But seeing the world so happy for William and Kate makes me hope that people will stop asking silly questions or making us justify our decisions, and just wish us happiness as they watch in awe like they did with the royal couple.

2 Responses to “Royal wedding one week anniversary: Will the goodwill continue?”

  1. ChicagoFriend May 13, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Had to share this: http://twitpic.com/4whbi0

Leave a Reply

