Salon bills: Another reason brides lose their minds

28 Apr

And God said, “Pity the Bridezillas for they shall inherit the debt.”

How can you NOT become a bridezilla after seeing a $1,500 hair and makeup bill? My eyes popped out of my face when I did the salon math at a place that had been recommended to me.

Bride hair and makeup “test” -$225

Actual day of hair and makeup $350

TOTAL for the poor bride alone: $575

But everyone is demanding I get bridesmaids. Let’s say I pick 3, plus my mom. At $65 each for their hair, and an extra $75 for their makeup, that’s $560.

NOTE: FOUR people cost less than the bride does. Wedding tax strikes again.

Of course, I would feel bad making these people pay for themselves, so I’d pay for it. Total bill for everyone: $1,135. But don’t forget the 13 % tax we have here. That’s $1,282.

And you need to tip the hairdresser at least 15%. $1,474.93.

That’s more on makeup and hair than my wedding dress. And this is at the cheap salon. *cry*

Moral of the story: get an independent contractor and go to a neighbourhood salon

6 Responses to “Salon bills: Another reason brides lose their minds”

  1. cris of kiss my tulle April 28, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    Okay, first – that initial test should be free. IT IS ALWAYS FREE. Always, always, always. Second – find out WHY they are charging you so much. If you are getting the same stuff done as your BMs than those prices are fucked up and you need to tell them that. Period. Do Not get reemed just because it’s “Your Day”.

    • unhappybride April 28, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

      its not free here. Every single salon I’ve called does the test for about $75. There was even one that charged $150!!!!For the test! Toronto is one of the most freaking expensive cities in North America. It’s more expensive than Chicago or San Francisco. I asked them why the bride costs more. Really no answer, but what’s a random front counter girl going to say and she wouldn’t get the owner at the one place. Ugh! I’ll just try the department store makeup counters but don’t think they open early enough.

  2. Michelle April 28, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    Wow. Time to find an aesthetically talented friend and bribe her with home-cooked Italian food. Or get your hair done without saying it’s for your wedding. Or dispense with the test runthrough. Or start the “au naturel” wedding makeup trend (hey, I’ll join). That is flat-out ridiculous!! P.S. I’ve referred another wedding-hating friend to your blog, and she loves it. She’s commented before as Rae. And don’t worry, your identity is still shrouded in mystery. 🙂

  3. Ariella April 28, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    WHHHAT????? Is this a celebrity makeup artist?? That’s the only way I can imagine charging that much.

    To be honest, I’ve never heard of any trials being free, but they are generally cheaper than the actual day. I honestly couldn’t tell you how much any of that stuff would cost on my end. I’m going tot he same hairdresser that has been doing my hair since I was 17. She’s charging me $35 for a trial and I think $100 for the day. My cousin, an aspiring makeup artist, is doing my makeup. My friend got airbrushing done and even THAT cost less than what you were quoted. And we’re talking about Long Island, the land of the $150 haircut.

    If you decide to have bridesmaids, unless you are requiring them to go to YOUR hairdresser or makeup artist, you shouldn’t feel obligated to pay for them. I told my bridesmaids that they can go to whomever they want, or not get anything professionally done at all. Unless you are forcing them to go to a specific person, they can pick up the tab themselves. It sounds mean, but most bridesmaids pay for their own beauty stuff. Is it nice to pay for it, yeah sure, but if you can’t afford it, you can’t afford it.

  4. Devin May 9, 2011 at 1:33 am #

    Have you looked into private contractors at all? You may be able to hire 1-2 people to come to you and do the whole bridal party for much less!

    Cheers,
    Devin

    • unhappy bride May 9, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

      yes, actually I met a guy who does magazine shoots for Dior the other day at an event at a department store. He is bus on our day but gave me tons of suggestions for private guys. I think they’ll be much more affordable!

Leave a Reply

