Wedding diet ain’t happening. I’m a nervous eater

24 Apr

So I am a nervous eater. Always have been. Always will be.

Last year fiance moved to the U.S. from Canada for work and it was at the height of the recession. I couldn’t get a job there. I stayed in Canada. There was a lot of nervous eating. I gained weight. I am not “fat” by any means at the size 8 or 10 I am now. I just feel uncomfortable in my skin with extra weight I am not used to.

I lost a lot of weight when I had the flu earlier this year. I’ve gained it all back again through nervous eating. Every time one of the wedding vendors tries to gouge us, someone tries to make me justify a wedding choice, or any time I think about all this work I have to do, I stuff some yogourt or granola bars in my mouth. If I’m not at home, the only option that’s easy to get a hold of is junk food. I eat very healthy otherwise.

Ceremony musicians just quoted me $450 for 1.5 hours of work. I had two bowls of cereal. 

I don’t want to be Kate Middleton skinny. I would like to feel comfortable and “normal” in my own skin (i.e. back to the size I am used to), but its not going to happen at this rate. I work very irregular hours that change at the last minute (so irregular that I sometimes have to call friends or fiance and cancel dinner plans because I have to deal with a crisis). So going to any sort of fitness class tends to be impossible. And cardio classes are really the only thing that motivates me. Yoga, and using gym machines bores me to death. But the problem is if I do end up finishing work in time to attend a class, I’m too tired from work to get off my butt.  

I’ve never believed in diets because I think they’re unhealthy, and coming from an Italian family, its never going to happen anyway.

Anyway I’m worried that now I won’t even fit into my dress, which will come two weeks before the wedding, giving me zero time to fix it if there’s a problem. I didn’t do anything silly like order it too small, but who knows what can happen.

Then there’s dealing with every guest scrutinizing the bride on her wedding day. More stress. I’ll brb, just going to get some cookies…

3 Responses to “Wedding diet ain’t happening. I’m a nervous eater”

  1. cris of kiss my tulle April 24, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    I have succesfully lost 40 pounds in just over 6 months using http://www.myfooddiary.com – it just made me more aware of my food choices and my accountability. Try it out and good luck to you.

    P.S. It sounds cheesy but those Kinetic games really get you off your ass and sweating. And they’re stupid fun!

  2. @pwllem April 26, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    Hey sister,

    Have you considered looking at the time of day when you eat? I try to eat only 6 times a day. About every 3 hours. I only give myself 30 minutes to eat. After I did that for a while I added calorie counting into the mix. Allowing myself about what I burned in a normal day. I then started parking on the second level of the parking ramp instead of the 3rd level where my office is so I have to take the stairs twice a day. Nothing major. If I’m super hungry I eat a crapload of lower calorie stuff so that the calories are the same but the mass in my gut is more. I still enjoy my cookies & milk but I also know I could eat a whole watermelon for the same calorie intake.

    • unhappybride April 28, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

      thanks for these supportive comments! I’m going to try these. We can’t go “up” the stairs at work. There is no access to the door from the ground floor. Have to take the elevator up but can take the stairs down. Dumb I know. I only eat about 4 x a day but the problem is that when I get upset I eat a 5th time and stuff my face sometimes until I feel sick! I did try the Kinect and thought it was fun. Methinks me might get one!

Leave a Reply

