Kids get hooked on weddings early. Baby bridezillas next?

24 Mar

Brainwash early, brainwash often.

I have no experience with brainwashing people, but this seems like it’s a good way to go about it with kids.

Give them toys to condition them into believing that a wedding should be a “fairytale” just like Cinderella. Bridezillas apparently aren’t born. They’re raised. On stuff like this.

A Cinderella-branded wedding dress costume for kids

I had to do a double take when I walked past the Disney Store, then got angry when I saw this. Seriously? I never really played “princess” as a kid. Popstar, model or ballerina was more my thing. But I think it’s ok for kids to play with princess stuff. I get that kids like to wear pretty clothes and jewellery and live in a fancy castle, and that’s totally cool. They’re kids, they should dream and play. But to make them think that they have to have a sparkly wedding to feel special? Why would anyone encourage this. People can feel special with all the other milestones in their life, and if they don’t get married, that’s ok too. What are kids supposed to think when they grow up on stuff like this? Will they really understand the meaning of weddings and marriage or just dream about a dress?

It gets worse! Check out the tag that confirms I wasn’t dreaming and this is in fact a “wedding dress.”

The tag on the kids wedding dress

“Once upon a wedding.” Come on. Linking the classic fairytale opening “once upon a time,” is probably confusing kids to think they are one and the same.

If that wasn’t enough, there’s the accompanying Cinderella doll that was on the shelf next to the costume. You know, when you need to be programmed into believing something but your wedding dress is at the cleaners.

Are we breeding bridezillas here or am I overanalyzing this? Would you buy this for your kid?

4 Responses to “Kids get hooked on weddings early. Baby bridezillas next?”

  1. whatsaysyou March 29, 2011 at 4:58 am #

    Thank you for sharing and no, you’re not over-analysing this. I too, as a child, never played princess at all. You could be right all along that our society is breeding future bridezillas (makes me disgusted looking at how some young ladies throw a childish fit over their wedding plans). Having a fairytale wedding doesn’t totally mean someone has an ultimate happy-ever after. If I were a mother, I won’t expose my kid to the whole princess girlie-girl culture.

    • unhappybride March 30, 2011 at 12:44 am #

      Thanks for commenting! I didn’t get a lot of response on that post so was wondering if I was the only one making a big deal. I’m glad you wouldn’t expose your kids to this kind of thing too! I’m ok with the princess stuff in small doses, (the Disney movies like Little Mermaid or Princess and the Frog I am ok with, they’re not too princess oriented) but the kiddie princess bride business is waaay over the line. And it’s inappropriate for kids when you think about it. You’d never encourage a real kid to be a child bride so why would you encourage them to play with wedding dresses.

  2. Anonymous February 2, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    I love the idea of making my daughter feel like a princess and play princess. It helps create a good self-esteem and helps them not settle for any loser in the future who can’t make an effort to make their dreams come true.

    • unhappy bride February 3, 2012 at 10:16 am #

      You make a good point. No one should settle for a loser who doesn’t want to help make their dreams come true, but what I am trying to say is that young girls shouldn’t be deceived into thinking that they are always going to be treated like a princess and shouldn’t expect everything to magically go their way. Life is hard, they have to work at everything, and marriage should be a team. Self-esteem is important, but you don’t want it to turn into self-importance. The reason behind this post is because I know two horribly spoiled people who are terrors even at age 32, demanding their own way for even menial things because they had been treated like princesses their entire lives and still demand that treatment from everyone.

Leave a Reply

