Church wedding and missing priest update: Is this a sign?

17 Mar

Is a beautiful church wedding for us meant to be?

So I got a hold of the missing priest’s secretary. BTW, the fact that we don’t have a confirmed ceremony location 3 months before our wedding is still not funny. Don’t know why she and everyone else is laughing.

Asked her what the priest’s schedule was (so we can talk to him when he’s actually there instead of just leaving messages all the time)…

She of course wanted to know why I would possibly want to know such classified information. Wonder if the FBI’s got a hold of it?

Anyway we have an appointment for Sunday morning which means non-religious fiance has to go to mass. And has to wake up early. On his birthday, no less! We’ll see what happens.

But here’s another thing that makes me wonder if this whole church wedding is not meant to be:

I have to order a brand new copy of my baptism certificate. The original (which I have), isn’t allowed for some reason. Conveniently, the new one costs $10. Cash grab much?

Anyway, the church where I was baptized no longer exists. And the church that took over their files? It’s the one we went to for help, where the priest sent us away. lol.

All of this is on top of how crazy difficult it is to get a hold of the original guy who promised he would marry us.

Is this a sign, folks?

EDIT: my friend just told me about how a priest refused to give her dying grandfather’s last rights because the priest was “too busy.” Her grandfather wanted to be cremated (against church tradition, which is burial).

4 Responses to “Church wedding and missing priest update: Is this a sign?”

  1. cris of kiss my tulle March 17, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Whoa. Hate to say this but after reading your trials – I’m kinda glad I’m a Mormon (a crappy ass, non-active one but hell – at least the church will marry me whenever I want and for free).

    • unhappybride March 17, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

      Thinking that fiance has the best solution of all. He’s an atheist. But I grew up with this stuff so so hard to get it out of me. I think priest is being annoying because we don’t go to church. I’m sure if we did we’d have no problem at all. Bleh.

  2. eyeronic March 18, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    Reading this series of posts makes me want to crack open a bottle of unconsecrated, non-symbollic, tasty wine, pour it into an indecorously large stemless glass and drink an irreverently heart-felt toast to my devout atheism! 🙂
    Seriously though, this is absolutely appalling conduct in any context. If businesses treated customers that way, they’d fold. Employees with that kind of attitude would find themselves on the dole in days. I’ really, really sorry you have to go through this on top of everything else! Best of luck.

    • unhappybride March 18, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

      lmao. Fiance is atheist too! We’re really just putting up with this now because we can’t find an alternate location anymore…

      We’re actually going to two non-religious locations Saturday. One is a mansion, the other a small museum, so hopefully one of those will turn out! Thank you for always being so supportive

Leave a Reply

