Do Grace Kelly, Kate Middleton and the “princess” issue spawn bridezillas?

25 Feb

"What's all the fuss about Grace Kelly's wedding dress? See the hips on that thing?"

Sure, I agree that everyone should feel special on their wedding day, but I don’t want to feel “like a princess.” Whenever someone says that to me, I picture some 6 year old playing dress up or a 17 year old prom queen trying on a tiara, not a grown woman making a life long commitment to someone she loves.

Example: People are still obsessed with Grace Kelly’s wedding dress. There’s even posts on how to find a knockoff.

I mean, it was 55 years ago and looked really horrible on her. Sleeves are a nice look, especially with nothing but strapless sweetheart gowns out there right now, but why would anyone wear a dress that looks THAT bad in the hips? Does no one else see what I see? There were so many other dresses from the 1950s that looked mighty nicer.

Ivanka Trump’s wedding dress was modelled on Grace Kelly’s dress. But the lace on Ivanka’s is nice and the fit was 1000 times better.

Nicole Richie’s cotton ball monstrosity is apparently also based on Grace Kelly’s dress, though I can’t see how it’s even close to that. Richie’s is much, much worse.

Shouldn’t you get a dress that you like? Not one that your favorite celebrity wore?

Anyway, I think this obsession with Grace Kelly’s dress has to do with the whole “princess issue.” She was princess of Monaco. Apparently brides want to feel like a princess on their wedding day, according to every wedding magazine/wedding store/movie ever made. I don’t know how many times I was trying on a dress, only to have people tell me I looked “like a princess.”

Maybe this is how Bridezillas spawn. They hear this “you are a princess” deal and expect people to serve them when it comes to their own wedding. I bet this whole Prince William and Kate Middleton royal wedding thing might pull a few more Bridezillas out of the woodworks who see that kind of grandeur and think they should get it too.

What do you think? Do real princesses or the “bride as princess” expectation drive normally sane women bonkers?

5 Responses to “Do Grace Kelly, Kate Middleton and the “princess” issue spawn bridezillas?”

  1. cris of kiss my tulle February 27, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    Oh GOD! How I despise the “princess” thing – hand to God, if ONE person tells me that I look like a princess during any of my dress fittings – I will become stabby. Look people, I am going to be a 34 year old first-time bride. I ain’t no blushing princess child bride.

    I’m pretty sure the tattoos would be frowned upon at Buckingham Palace.

  2. whatsaysyou March 17, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    I don’t understand why some bridezillas are so dead set on getting the whole princess thingie for their weddings. Honestly, every wedding needs something unique rather be another boring clone which either looks worse for sight years from now or a just-another-perfect-reenactment of ‘the’ ultimate princess wedding.

    • unhappybride March 17, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

      Yes, avoid the cookie cutter. When I get a chance I’ll blog about a horrible princess-enabler thing I saw at a children’s store!

      • whatsaysyou March 17, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

        Really? Cool and looking forward to it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A kid with her wedding head on straight « unhappybride - February 27, 2011

    […] hope this poor, innocent soul won’t get corrupted by this “Princessify-Your-Wedding” business, and will still see the importance of being independent instead of a woman obsessed over […]

Leave a Reply

