Weeding out clueless jewelers

17 Feb

So I’ve discovered a quick and easy test to find out whether your jeweler is clueless or actually knows what they’re talking about.

Avoid ones that say your engagement ring is ugly.

I went into a small jewelry store and asked for wedding bands so we can start comparing prices. Fiance wasn’t there yet.

Owner showed me the mens’ rings and suggested that I consider some from a catalogue that were brand new and hadn’t arrived yet.

He said they have a different finish on the edges and look nicer on the finger compared to the others in his store.

“Describe how it will look different,” I asked.

He points at my engagement ring and says “better than that.”

lol.

So he is saying his $350, plain wedding band will look better than my diamond engagement ring from a well-known jewelry boutique.

Seems like he doesn’t know what he’s talking about, which makes me wonder what he’d try to sell me. But I’m pretty sure he’s actually well versed in his industry and is just trying to convince me to spend on something sight unseen.

So while he wasn’t outright rude (aside from suggesting my ring is ugly!), he must be crazy to think any customer would believe what he says instead of judging the quality with their own eyes, especially after a comment like that.

2 Responses to “Weeding out clueless jewelers”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Weeding out clueless jewelers « unhappybride -- Topsy.com - February 17, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mindy – Wedding Twit, unhappybride. unhappybride said: How to weed out jewelers: avoid ones who call your engagement ring ugly‏ http://bit.ly/gMdpOl #wedding #bridal […]

  2. This groom should run. Fast. From her, and Tiffany & Co. « unhappybride - February 25, 2011

    […] So me and fiance are looking at wedding bands. We went into Tiffany & Co. to compare their offerings to some others that we’ve already found. […]

Leave a Reply

