Learning to say no or being stuck with 6 of everything

6 Feb

We booked two photographers from the same studio. We’re happy with them. We liked their style from the start, and they live close to my house, which makes it even better.

But we would’ve been just as happy with another photographer in another part of the city who costs the same give or take $100.

I hate saying no to people who we are happy with, especially when we really couldn’t find a reason NOT to hire them. The only reason we went with who we did was that we had to pick SOMEBODY. If we didn’t, we would’ve ended up with four photographers from two different studios, for double the price.

I had the same problem with a wedding dress store. I felt so bad about NOT buying a dress from one store where I absolutely LOVED the owner, who seemed really concerned when I was sick in her store. She was fantastic. I feel sooo bad about not going there, but I ended up buying a dress from a designer she doesn’t carry. I’ll definitely buy my bridesmaids dresses from her though.

I’m not the only one who feels like this. One of my friends said one consultant actually suggested the style that she ended up buying. But my friend eventually bought it for $400 cheaper at another store. It’s too bad that the lady from the first store didn’t get her commission, but $400 is a huge chunk of money, especially when you’re spending $30,000 on a wedding.

So even though this blog is about some of the negative stuff associated with wedding planning, there are often so many positive experiences that it is hard to choose, and you just have to come to terms with the fact that you can’t hire everyone, even if you’d like to. Now time to call these ppl back and say no 😦

2 Responses to “Learning to say no or being stuck with 6 of everything”

  1. spindlephotography February 17, 2011 at 6:58 am #

    I wanted to buy a dress I really liked from a boutique that had the most amazing customer service and atmosphere, but it was $4000 and I couldn’t do it.

    Fortunately as a wedding vendor now I send lots of business their way and don’t have to feel so bad.

    I do hate to let anyone down, which is why I shouldn’t answer when sales people of any type call.

    • unhappybride February 18, 2011 at 2:28 am #

      $4000! Yikes. Glad you said no. You don’t need that for one day. I still feel bad about saying no to her. I’m naming all the vendors once the wedding is over, so hopefully she’ll get some business from me.

Leave a Reply

