David’s Bridal: bad business timing

3 Feb

So David’s Bridal, the cheap and cheerful wedding dress chain that has nice dresses for under $500 (or so I’m told), is opening up its first shop in my city… In March.

This is a huge missed opportunity for them. Peak wedding season is June-July, and with a six month waiting period to order dresses, they could’ve made a ton of money if they had opened in December. The three months is going to cost them a lot of potential business.

There’s also a major dress sample sale for charity in March. Too late.

Too bad about David’s Bridal because I really wanted to check them out and it would’ve provided a different number of options compared to the same old same old at every other wedding dress store in this city.

Maybe I’ll look at bridesmaids dress or accessories there once they’re around.

3 Responses to “David’s Bridal: bad business timing”

  1. spindlephotography February 17, 2011 at 6:43 am #

    I wasn’t crazy about my david’s bridal experience….makeup on a lot of the dresses and too many beads for my taste. But every now and then I see a bride in a dress from david’s bridal that looks really cute.

    • unhappybride February 18, 2011 at 2:01 am #

      it’s funny, I just got an email from them today advertising their grand opening. Offering $500 off a dress. Too bad it’ll be 3 months too late! I’ll give anything a try once

  2. Rae February 23, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Your site was recommended to me after I wrote a rant about how David’s Bridal. We were not only told we were *not allowed to touch the dresses* but also that we had to go to the end of a very long line to fill out forms before we could shop. Said would have been nonexistent if the greeter had bothered to tell us about it straight off. DB will not be getting any business from me, either!

Leave a Reply

