I’m not crazy or picky re: wedding dresses. Here’s proof

29 Jan

So, for much of this blog, I’ve been ranting about how I hate every wedding dress I’ve tried on.

Now I want to show you a real-life example of what I’ve been looking for this whole time, not only so you understand, but to reassure myself that I’m not a bridezilla.

I love the dress Jessica Simpson wore at her first wedding.

Clean, flattering lines in the skirt. But it still has embellishment in the fabric so it isn’t just plain. Cinched in the waist (which is my best feature). The skirt flares out at the right angle.

To make this my perfect dress, I’d like the neckline to be softer, less pointy. Maybe sparkle instead of the embroidery.

Apparently, a dress similar to this is too much to ask for. This simple, classic design that transcends time periods is IMPOSSIBLE to get. Trust me, designers’ websites don’t have anything like this. I’ve gone to EIGHT different wedding dress stores in this city. None of them have anything like this. Each store says “sorry, its out of style, should’ve gotten married two years ago.” I’ve tried to see what other stores have, but they have nothing remotely like this. It’s not fun going to so many stores only to be shown dresses that look exactly the same, regardless of the designer.

Going from store to store, I feel like I’m being picky or unreasonable. But am I really ridiculous if I expect at least ONE designer to have a dress that is traditional instead of ugly.?

I blame wedding dress designers who charge $2,000 for dresses that are all copies of each other. No one deviates from the same designs over and over. Because of you, designers with no originality, who insist on ruffles and frills that consume me and look awful, I can’t feel beautiful on my wedding day.

One Response to “I’m not crazy or picky re: wedding dresses. Here’s proof”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention I’m not crazy or picky re: wedding dresses. Here’s proof « unhappybride -- Topsy.com - January 31, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by unhappybride, unhappybride and unhappybride, unhappybride. unhappybride said: I'm not picky or crazy when it comes to #wedding dresses. Here's proof of what I have to deal with: http://bit.ly/gcuf3o #bridal […]

Leave a Reply

