Bracing myself for sample sale and territorial women

21 Jan

About territorial women and wedding gowns:

So a store that sells high-end designer gowns, as well as affordably priced ones is having a sample sale tomorrow. I’m going to see what I can find, and the store has assured me it’s not like the Running of The Brides at
designer label discount store Filene’s Basement. I just hope I won’t have to interact with too many crazy women.

The other day I was trying on a dress when the saleslady pointed to a woman who had bought that same dress and was wearing her own while the seamstress took measurements.

I went to the girl and told her I possibly wanted the same one, and just wanted her to turn around so I could get a better look at hers. (The sample I was wearing was smushed so I couldn’t really tell how its supposed to look).

She turned around and said “No, I am the only one who can wear this dress. It was made for me.”

She wasn’t joking. She refused to turn around.

Of course, I think the best way to show originality is to do what she did. Buy a three-season-old, best-selling dress from a popular, affordable designer. I think wearing something that thousands of other brides around the world have worn is totally unique. Why are people so territorial/ridiculous?

For the record, her dress was about six sizes too small, and she was pretty skinny. The top looked like it was spilling out of a sausage casing.

Anyway, I really hope I don’t have to deal with people like that tomorrow. lol.

Leave a Reply

